It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 7:32 am


All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Screen Mode Chapter (Getting Started in VISTA)
PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 5:27 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 8:14 am
Posts: 49
Location: Seattle, WA
Real Name: Kathy Ice
This is the chapter about working in screen mode. The original version was kind of a mess; it had a general introduction and spent most of its time talking users through Edit User Characteristics.

I believe I have successfully extracted all of the actual screen mode instructions out of the Edit User Characteristics section and put it in the general section. I'm wondering now whether we even need the Edit User Characteristics example.

Also, we have decided that we will be updating most or all of the illustrations. Duglas Kilbride is working on those now.


Attachments:
New Screen Mode.odt [147.92 KiB]
Downloaded 445 times

_________________
Kathy Ice
Documentation Specialist
VISTA Expertise Network
Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Screen Mode Chapter (Getting Started in VISTA)
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:41 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 4:02 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Houston TX
Real Name: David Whitten
Began Programming in MUMPS: 06 Jan 1982
Let me start out by saying the obvious. You have done a lot of work, and should be justly proud of it. My comments should not be understood as complaints, but as ideas that could be used to expand your chapter and lower the possible confusion for users of screens created with ScreenMan.

Some ideas:
you have "Screenman" which has traditionally be capitalized as "ScreenMan" and mentioned on very rare occasions as its original name of "ScreenMama"

You have a statement:
• the statement, “Enter a command or ‘^CAPTION’ to jump to a field in the current window.

which does NOT have a closing double quote (")

You need to make it clear how to type a <PF1> (also called the <GOLD> ) key, since the newer emulators don't actually have one. (a lot of keyboards and emulators map the <PF1> to the F1 key, which on some of the newest machines can be very difficult to type, since you have to hold down the <FN> key as a shift to get the key to be typed.) Other emulators only let you type <PF1> when you use the "floating on-screen" keyboard and on the on-screen keypad. Finally some systems map the <PF1> key to the <NUMLOCK> key on the keypad. YMMV.
Likewise you need to mention the complexity of the other keys, such as <PF2> also called <GREEN>) , <PF3>, and <PF4>.


is there a VISTA Expertise Network documentation Guideline to decide if there a standard way to name shift+6 ? I have seen it in documentation in the past, referred to as "up-arrow", "caret", "circumflex", and "hat". I notice you name the character different ways in this same document.

you have a statement:
Your answers are not saved automatically
I might have said:
Your answers are not saved permanently

I argue that the answers are saved automatically, as you can leave a screen and come back to it, and see what you answered before. But until you agree, the answers aren't permanently saved.

You have a statement:
• You can change a field’s default response by entering a different value or delete a field prompt’s default response by entering the at-sign (@).
I argue that separating out the two issues is clearer:
• You can change a field’s default response by entering a different value
• You can delete a field prompt’s default response by entering the at-sign (@).


In the Multiple Fields in Screen Mode section, talking about creating new multiple entries, it isn't obvious that you are telling them to type in the new value at the first page rather than in the pop-up page. If you type in the new value in the pop-up page, you don't end up creating a new entry, but end up editing an existing entry.

I don't see the explanation of the use of "^?" to show you which fields you can "jump" to.

I don't see the mentioned that underlined captions indicate that a field must have a value entered (i.e. that it is required), nor that if you try to exit without answering them, that a screen will come up listing the unanswered required fields like:

Verifying ...
THE DATA COULD NOT BE FILED.
Page 1, SERVICE/SECTION is a required field

Press RETURN to continue:

(this same question comes up if you try to use <PF1>E to exit or <PF1>S to save and you haven't answered that field)

I see that you mention you get into the "COMMAND AREA" if you type "^" <RETURN>, but I don't see mentioned that you can also get there by typing an up cursor key at the first field on the page or a down cursor key at the last field on the page.

I don't see that typing a caret (^) in the COMMAND AREA is the same as choosing to leave ScreenMan, and that you will get a prompt: Save changes before leaving form (Y/N)?
which determines if the obvious will occur.

In your table, you don't mention <PF1> E and <PF1> Q and <PF1> C (you should explain what they do on the top screen and how they do different things for pop-up pages)

You might want to review this help message (coming from typing <PF1> H) to guide more discussion in the chapter. I know you don't have all of these items in your table and you did warn that your table only includes "Important" keys. I would argue, that your manual is the ideal place for a discussion of several of them, and some of them I actively used when filling out ScreenMan forms. For example, I think <PF1>Z is rather cool, and even though rarely needed, probably should be discussed, since it only rarely is mentioned.

Screen 1 of 3
SCREENMAN HELP

Cursor Movement

Move right one character <Right>
Move left one character <Left>
Move right one word <Ctrl-L> or <PF1><Space>
Move left one word <Ctrl-J>
Move to right of window <PF1><Right>
Move to left of window <PF1><Left>
Move to end of field <PF1><PF1><Right>
Move to beginning of field <PF1><PF1><Left>

Modes

Insert/Replace toggle <PF3>
Zoom (invoke multiline editor) <PF1>Z


Screen 2 of 3

Deletions

Character under cursor <PF2> or <Delete>
Character left of cursor <Backspace>
From cursor to end of word <Ctrl-W>
From cursor to end of field <PF1><PF2>
Toggle null/last edit/default <PF1>D or <Ctrl-U>


Macro Movement

Field below <Down> | Next page <PF1><Down> or <PageDown>
Field above <Up> | Previous page <PF1><Up> or <PageUp>
Field to right <Tab> | Next block <PF1><PF4>
Field to left <PF4> | Jump to a field ^caption
Pre-defined order <Return> | Go to Command Line ^

Go into multiple or word processing field <Return>


Screen 3 of 3

Command Line Options (Enter '^' at any field to jump to the command line.)

Command Shortcut Description
------- -------- -----------
EXIT see below Exit form (asks whether changes should be saved)
CLOSE <PF1>C Close window and return to previous level
SAVE <PF1>S Save changes
NEXT PAGE <PF1><Down> Go to next page
REFRESH <PF1>R Repaint screen


Other Shortcut Keys

Exit form and save changes <PF1>E
Quit form without saving changes <PF1>Q
Invoke Record Selection Page <PF1>L


A discussion of what "pre-defined order" means and how at times it isn't the obvious right to left or top to bottom order would help some folks be less confused (Even though I personally think the order should be obvious, and if it isn't, that some programmer wasn't paying close attention to the screens being made).

I think you should talk about how editing word-processing fields can pull up the full screen editor, even when the field looks like it only takes one space on the screen. This is not obvious to ScreenMan users until they encounter it the first time. Even if you choose to refer them to another chapter for most of the commands for the full screen editor, it would be good to tell them how to exit the editor (CONTROL+E or <PF1>E) in this chapter so they won't be too frustrated.

You might want to mention that jumping to a field with "^" fieldname might move you to another screen. You imply that it only jumps to another field on the same screen.

You might want to mention that in the COMMAND AREA that you can go to the NEXT page, but there is no way to go to the PREVIOUS page, except by going to the last page and then choosing to go to the NEXT page, which will indeed cycle around to the first page.

I've run out time, so I hope this helps you...

David


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net